Skip to main content


1st Jul 2023
to 30th Sep 2023

Age Range
All ages

Faoi Scáth Chnoc Fola (Imleabhar 2)

Faoi Scáth Chnoc Fola [Under the Shadow of Bloody Foreland] (Volume 2) The  book gives a taste of the large collection of photographs and stories that Bríd Mhic Pháidín has gathered about the Cnoc Fola (Bloody Foreland) area in north-west Donegal in recent years. The Cnoc Fola area covers the following eight townlands: An Charrig, An Ghlaisigh, Bun an Inbhir, Bun an Leaca, Faoi Chnoc, Mín an Chladaigh, Glaisearchú and Mín Lárach, and it is the second book of its kind that Bríd has put together of  her local native area. 
Bríd has always had a great interest in the history and folklore of the area and years ago she made it her goal to put aspects of the tradition and images related to the area together in the form of a book in such a way that they would be preserved and not forgotten. She has now spent many years going around the different townlands, meeting people and gathering information and pictures about the inhabitants of the area and the kind of life they had. The book is about a people and their place, and it gives an insight into aspects of the history and lore of the area over the past hundred years. The book will give the local community the opportunity to look back at the lives of their families and relatives who lived in the district, and this has been done in an attractive and interesting way with the hundreds of photographs that can be found between its covers. 

Please note that the details of events listed above are provided by the relevant Local Authorities.

Stay up to date