Skip to main content


1st Apr 2023
to 31st May 2023

Age Range

Meath County Council Gaeltacht Scholarships 2023

Students from 16 secondary schools across the county are invited annually to apply for Gaeltacht scholarships from Meath County Council. The awards are part - funded by Meath County Council under the Creative Ireland Meath programme.

The scholarships are presented by Cllr. Nick Killian, Cathaoirleach of Meath County Council to students at a special ceremony in Buvinda House. The scholarship scheme honours Máire Nic Shiubhlaigh a founder actress of the Abbey Theatre and a leader of Cumann na mBán in Jacob’s Biscuit Factory during the 1916 Rising. Máire was also an employee of Meath County Council where she worked as a branch librarian in Laytown during the 1950’s.

This year marks the expansion of the scholarship scheme with additional awards for pupils attending DEIS secondary schools. These scholarships are named in honour of Irish Language activists Mother Columba Gibbons (1875-1961) and Máire Ní Raghallaigh.

Creative Ireland Meath Writer - in - Residence Manchán Magan, acknowledges Meath County Council for honouring the memory of these revolutionary women.

“We know that many of the women who participated in the events of the revolutionary period were forgotten and I am delighted that they are now re-emerging from the shadows and taking their place alongside the more well-known names associated with that period in our history.”

Please note that the details of events listed above are provided by the relevant Local Authorities.

Stay up to date